Forever the Same

FOREVER THE SAME: Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.
FOREVER THE SAME: Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.

7Remember those who rule over you, who have spoken the word of God to you, whose faith follow, considering the outcome of their conduct.  8Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.  9Do not be carried about with various and strange doctrines.  For it is good that the heart be established by grace, not with foods which have not profited those who have been occupied with them.  Hebrews 13:7-9


 

“Our relationship with God and the building up of our faith are completely dependent upon the grace given to us through God’s Son Jesus Christ and His glorious work on our behalf. “


 Sandwiched between verses seven and eight we are told that Jesus Christ is always the same, He never changes, therefore His Word to us and the faith that we possess never changes.  Additionally, those who lead His church follow the same doctrine and practice that has been handed down to us through God’s preservation of His Word, the Bible.  Those leaders who teach various and strange doctrines must be admonished with God’s Word and then abandoned if they refuse to repent and return to the truth of the Scriptures.

Our relationship with God and the building up of our faith are completely dependent upon the grace given to us through God’s Son Jesus Christ and His glorious work on our behalf.  It is because God does not change that we can rely upon His grace towards us in His Son Jesus Christ.

“For I am the Lord, I do not change; Therefore you are not consumed, O sons of Jacob.”  Malachi 3:6

 At the beginning and the end of Hebrews we are taught about Jesus Christ’s immutability.  Since He doesn’t change we can count on Him to interact with us the way He has with His people throughout the ages.  Praise God for His love for us!

10And:  “You, Lord, in the beginning laid the foundation of the earth, And the heavens are the work of Your hands.  11They will perish, but You remain; and they will all grow old like a garment; 12Like a cloak You will fold them up, And they will be changed.  But You are the same, And Your years will not fail.”  Hebrews 1:10-12

This should give us, His children, great comfort as we make our way through our pilgrimage.  He is with us to comfort us, counsel us, provide for us, and lead us in the way that we should go.  We can trust that the way God interacted with His children as documented in the Scriptures is the same way that He will deal with us.  Ours is a living faith in the Living God and we experience Him in our lives just as His children through all time have also experienced Him.  This should also serve as a warning against sin and error in our lives, because we see throughout the pages of Scripture that God the Father has punished His children after repeated warnings to turn from sin and lies.

3Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, 4who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.  5For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also abounds through Christ.  2 Corinthians 1:3-5

 16Now may our Lord Jesus Christ Himself, and our God and Father, who has loved us and given us everlasting consolation and good hope by grace, 17comfort your hearts and establish you in every good word and work…16Now may the Lord of peace Himself give you peace always in every way.  The Lord be with you all.  17The salutation of Paul with my own hand, which is a sign in every epistle; so I write.  18The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all.  Amen.   2 Thessalonians 2:16-17 & 3:16-18

 For God is my witness, how greatly I long for you all with the affection of Jesus Christ.  Philippians 1:8

 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye.  Psalm 32:8

 The Lord will guide you continually, And satisfy your soul in drought, And strengthen your bones; You shall be like a watered garden, And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.  Isaiah 58:11

 13However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.  14He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you.  15All things that the Father has are Mine.  Therefore I said that He will take of Mine and declare it to you.  John 16:13-15

 And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:19

 17Command those who are rich in this present age not to be haughty, nor to trust in uncertain riches but in the living God, who gives us richly all things to enjoy.  18Let them do good, that they be rich in good works, ready to give, willing to share, 19storing up for themselves a good foundation for the time to come, that they may lay hold on eternal life.  1 Timothy 6:17-19

 1The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.  2He makes me lie down in green pastures; he leads me beside the still waters.  3He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. 4Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.  5You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.  6Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.  Psalm 23:1-6

 5If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of god, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.  6But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind.  7For let not that man suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; 8he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.  James 1:5-8

 17Thus says the Lord, your Redeemer The Holy One of Israel:  “I am the Lord your God, Who teaches you to profit, Who leads you by the way you should go.  18Oh, that you had heeded My commandments!  Then your peace would have been like the river, And your righteousness like the waves of the sea.  Isaiah 48:18-18

 27”My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.  28And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand.  29My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand.  I and My Father are one.”  John 10:27-30

 1Moreover, brethren, I do not want you to be unaware that all our fathers were under the cloud, all passed through the sea, 2all were baptized into Moses in the cloud and the sea, 3all ate the same spiritual food, 4and all drank the same spiritual drink.  For they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them, and that Rock was Christ.  5But with most of them God was not well pleased, for their bodies were scattered in the wilderness.  6Now these things became our examples, to the intent that we should not lust after evil things as they also lusted.  7And do not become idolaters as were some of them.  As it is written, “The people sat down to eat and drink, and rose up to play.”  8Nor let us commit sexual immorality, as some of them did, and in one day twenty-three thousand fell; 9nor let us tempt Christ, as some of them also tempted, and were destroyed by serpents; 10nor complain, as some of the also complained, and were destroyed by the destroyer.  11Now all these things happened to them as examples, and they were written for our admonition, upon whom the ends of the ages have come.  12Therefore let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall.  13No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.  14Therefore, my beloved, flee from idolatry.  1 Corinthians 10:1-14

 I have barely scratched the surface of the verses that teach us that our God is with us for our good and His glory.  I wanted to share with you an instance of God intervening in a real practical way by answering a prayer for wisdom about a problem that anyone could have.  It seems silly, but this experience just shows that God cares about us and takes care of us.  Our kitchen sink was clogged on one side.  I thought my husband would have to unclog it by taking it apart.  He already has so much to do.  I asked the Lord to help us with this problem and He immediately brought to my mind a simple technique that I had read about for unclogging a sink.  I used that technique (baking soda, followed by vinegar, followed immediately by boiling hot water from a tea kettle) and the clog was busted.  I shared the Lord’s provision with my husband and Jesus Christ got the glory for what He did for us.

God is with us for our good and His glory.

There are so many instances of the Lord hearing and answering prayer about many different situations in my life.  A more serious instance is His guidance and answers to prayer regarding the rescuing of our daughter from doom and destruction.  Praise God for His deliverance!  I am sure there are numerous examples in your own life, because we know and serve the Living God Who works on our behalf for His glory.

Please feel free to share, in the comment section of this post, verses that the Lord has used in your life to encourage you with His watch care over you, and also share those times when the Lord has intervened in your life to help you with difficulties and trials you have encountered.  The Bible was written for our encouragement, edification, and warning so that we can know the Lord God Almighty and His wondrous grace, mercy and love given to us through His Son Jesus Christ.  To God be the glory!  Amen!

by Eliza

image: khunaspix, FreeDigitalPhotos.net/ETPR

Originally posted at Holding Forth His Word: Forever the Same

RELATED ARTICLES

10 thoughts on “Forever the Same”

  1. Why are you trying to contradict the truth by your wicked reviling? No government official has anything to do with what God has said in His Word and your meaningless rants are just stupid.

    Like

    1. This was said in response to a comment that came to me at holdingforthhisword.com. The comment came from WUSA9, I guess that they are just spam. I will ignore them in the future. God bless us.

      Like

Love it? Hate it? Be biblical! We occasionally respond to biblical comments, questions and/or remarks.